The House of Fabergé was founded in 1842 by Gustav Fabergé and is famous for the 50 decorated "Imperial" eggs which were commissioned by Tsars Alexander III and Nicolas II for their wives and mothers. In addition they produced intricate and delicate jewelry and many objects that were popular in Russia. The Fabergé firm was nationalized by the Bolsheviks in 1918. In 1924, Carl Fabergé, the son of Peter Fabergé, opened Fabergé en Cie in Paris, making similar jewelry to the original House of Fabergé.
In January 2007, Pallinghurst Resources LLP, an investment advisory firm based in London, announced it had acquired the Fabergé brand name for an undisclosed sum. The trademarks, licenses and associated rights were transferred to a newly constituted company, Fabergé Limited, which was registered in the Cayman Islands. In October 2007 it announced that the company intended to restore Fabergé to its rightful position as the leading purveyor of enduring and endearing personal possessions. Furthermore, it announced the reunification of the Fabergé brand and the Fabergé family through an alliance with Tatiana Fabergé and Sarah Fabergé, both great-granddaughters of Peter Carl Fabergé. The daughters became founding members of the Fabergé Heritage Council, a division of Fabergé Limited, whose purpose is to offer counsel to the new company. In July 2011 the company launched two collections of egg pendants, including a dozen "high jewelry" eggs. These were the first to have been made by Fabergé since 1917.